Deaneries and Deans

The Diocese of Zaria was 100% carved out from the Archdiocese of Kaduna. It is constituted by ten [10] Local Government Areas, namely: Zaria, Sabon Gari, Soba, Ikara, Kudan, Makarfi, Kubau, Giwa, Birnin Gwari and Igabi with the exception of the civil district of Rigasa and Rigachukun. Being a centre of learning, the people who make up the bulk of the population are mostly lecturers and students of the various tertiary institutions found within Zaria and its environs. Next to this group in size are the business men and women who come from different cultures across the country. The Hausa Christians and the Kurama people are the indigenes of Zaria diocese and agriculture is their major occupation. In all, the diocese is divided into three deaneries along these three major groups, namely:

Very Rev. Fr. (Prof.) Peter B. Tanko
Very Rev. Fr. (Prof.) Peter B. TankoDean Samaru Deanery

Samaru Deanery

This Deanery is predominantly made up of academic institutions with their lecturers and students. It has seven (7) Parishes, one (1) Pastoral Area, one (1) Hospital Chaplaincy and one (1) Military Chaplaincy. Very Rev. Fr. Peter Tanko is the Dean of Samaru Deanery and he is the Parish Priest of Our Lady Queen of Peace Parish, Ahmadu Bello University Main Campus, Samaru Zaria, where he resides.

Very Rev. Fr. Lawrence Gana Bakut
Very Rev. Fr. Lawrence Gana BakutDean Sabon Gari Deanery

Sabon Gari Deanery

Sabon Gari Deanery is the business hub of the Diocese. It consists of seven (7) Parishes, one (1) Military Chaplaincy, one (1) Police Chaplaincy, one (1) Hospital Chaplaincy, one (1) University Chaplaincy and one (1) Pastoral Area. The Cathedral is located in this Deanery and Very Rev. Fr. Lawrence Gana Bakut is the Dean and the Chaplain of Institute of Administration, Ahmadu Bello University, Kongo Campus, where he resides.

 Very Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Ezema
Very Rev. Fr. Emmanuel EzemaDean Ikara Deanery

Ikara Deanery

The Deanery is a rural area where most of the indigenes of Zaria dwell and practise subsistent agriculture. It has six (6) Parishes and one (1) Pastoral Area. Very Rev. Fr. Emmanuel Ezema is the Dean of Ikara Deanery and the Parish Priest of St. John’s Parish, Pampegua, where he resides.

In all, Zaria Diocese is currently made up of Twenty (20) Parishes, two (2) Military Chaplainciestwo (2) Hospital Chaplaincies, one (1) University Chaplaincy, one (1) Police Chaplaincy, three (3) Pastoral Areas, as well as, Schools and a Pastoral Centre within 3 Deaneries.